Testimonials

Loudoun K9 Dog Training
5.0
Based on 40 reviews
powered by Facebook
Hayley Wilson
Hayley Wilson
2021-05-27T21:43:00+0000
We highly recommend Loudoun K9 to anyone looking for dog trainers. Daniel and Deidra are highly knowledgeable, and experienced professionals. They were able to identify our two Aussies’ high anxiety and unhealthily tight bond from the get go. We got countless photo and video updates during their 3 wk training program. Our dogs received not only proper training, but genuine care and love from their trainer Deidra. They came back with their same goofball personalities, but much more disciplined behaviors.Daniel and Deidra also made sure that we as owners, are learning the correct way of engagement with our dogs to ensure long term success. Our only regret is our long hesitation before reaching out!read more
Erin Wins
Erin Wins
2021-03-30T20:19:59+0000
We loved working with Daniel; he was personable and understanding of individual circumstances – not a one size fits all approach. We have a Great Dane who is scared of her own shadow, and the patience and kindness Daniel showed while training with her was so appreciated. He never pushed her, or us, to move quicker than we could handle. He educated us and was honest about lifestyle items we needed to change, which we appreciated because it helped us understand the full picture as to why behavior problems start/persist. We absolutely recommend Loudoun K9!read more
Heather Pearl Gutierrez
Heather Pearl Gutierrez
2021-02-10T00:47:28+0000
Our experience with Daniel and his team at Loudoun K9 was life changing, not only for our shy Rottie mix, Bodhi, but also for our family. We reached out to SEVERAL trainers regarding our dogs fear and lack of balance, despite having a loving home. Nothing quite felt right. Within the first few minutes of of consult with Daniel, we knew we had found the right partnership for us and our dog. Daniel clearly has a passion for the dogs he works with, as well as working with owners to help them become better pack leaders. He also quickly sees past breed and labels, instead focusing on the human and dog relationship. As the owner of a rescue of a mix of “Bully” breeds, this was extremely refreshing.We opted for the board and train program for Bodhi to give him a great baseline to build from. Emily arrived for pick up, and immediately put my heart as ease, as well as Bodhis. She is simply amazing! We received regular updates and photos or videos while Bodhi was in their care. I could tell he was happy from the photos, which speaks volumes! When Bodhi arrived home, we could immediately see a difference in his confidence and his focus. We have been following the program as laid out during our training sessions, and it has been amazing to see how far we have come! Bodhi and I enjoy evening walks now with confidence. He has settled in to a new routine at home and is thriving! He will likely always have some insecurities, but now we have the relationship to work through those moments together. He is working toward his best life,And it is an absolute joy to see! We have found better balance as a household, too. Both Daniel and Emily have checked in with us since Bodhi has been home, I know they truly care about our success and will follow through on their lifetime support promise. We are so grateful to have found Loudoun K9!read more
Michelle Garcia
Michelle Garcia
2021-01-28T13:49:48+0000
Loudoun K9 is top notch training. We sent our dog Bentley (pomsky) to them for there board and train. It was the best thing we could have done, she is still the same dog but with awesome manners. They were great about communicating and sending updates along with pics and videos so that we could see her progress. When she came home the transition was so smooth and they were awesome about explaining the details of what is expected of us as an owner. The process works and is easy enough that the whole family can do it. The support they offer even after the training has ending is also priceless. We would highly recommend them!!!read more
Matt Robbins
Matt Robbins
2020-11-07T18:17:22+0000
I highly recommend Loudoun K9! Before her training, our three year old German Shepherd Cheyenne was scared of kids, pulled at the leash, and would not listen to us 100% of the time when called for. Daniel is not only knowledgeable on dog behavior, but helped to alter our relationship with Cheyenne, which caused her to respect and listen. Daniel worked with our hectic schedules as we were moving with a tight deadline and was always flexible and understanding. After training, Cheyenne is a different dog! She has always been loving, but is now respecting boundaries and highly improved with kids, walking on the leash, and distractions.. We are very grateful for Daniel showing us how to properly use an e-Collar and its effectiveness with commands. We cannot thank Loudoun K9 enough; please book them if you are even considering dog training – you will not regret it as long as you are willing to put in the work!read more
Whitney Byrd Ryan
Whitney Byrd Ryan
2020-10-19T17:55:43+0000
Loudoun K9’s team has been instrumental in teaching our family to meet the needs of our pit bull puppy, Beamer. Their 3 week board & train was an investment in a better quality of life for Beamer. He came to us at 5 weeks old & missed out on imperative bonding time with his mom & siblings. The board & train provided him with confidence and taught him not to react in fear. Beamer & our family are a work in progress but we would not be where we are today, without Loudoun K9. We look forward to working with their team as Beamer gets older!read more
Barb Gelak Kavanagh
Barb Gelak Kavanagh
2020-06-28T22:16:44+0000
I’ve known Daniel for about 10 years. Way back when, he used to walk my lab/pit mix Guinness, and even back then he helped us with some dog aggression issues that Guinness had. I followed Daniel on social media over the years, and I was very impressed as I watched him build his training practice from scratch, and I really appreciated his hard working, honest and dependable nature. My family welcomed a new lab puppy into our home this past November, and I had no doubt he would be the one to help us integrate Lacie into our home. I contacted Daniel even before we picked up the puppy to discuss training and set up our first visit, which occurred just a couple days after we brought Lacie home. Initially Daniel helped with information on kennel training, potty training, feeding schedules and general acclimation, and was always available to answer any question that we had about bringing a new puppy into the house. In subsequent visits we moved into basic training (sit, down, stay) and Daniel was wonderful to work with; extremely knowledgeable, personable and with a quick wit that made our sessions fun. Between home visits (4 total), Daniel was always tirelessly available via text or phone for any issues or questions we might have. Going into the 3 week board and train when Lacie was 6 months old, my family and I were struggling on walks with her – despite working with her from the beginning during her 3 daily walks, she was pulling on the leash and chasing every bird, squirrel and dog (that’s a Lab or you :-). When Daniel brought her back after the 3 (very, very long) weeks, he demonstrated Lacie’s capabilities and it was amazing how under control she was with Daniel. He even worked with her on other issues she was having, like eating her poop (gross) and staying in control in and out of the door. After a bit of time I, however, was still struggling with her on our walks. Clearly user error, as Daniel showed me she could do it and knew the commands. He worked with me via home visits and many text/phone calls on different techniques to help me give Lacie the confidence and willingness to follow my commands (for instance, I began hand feeding her again). Daniel was very patient with me as we tried several solutions and finally hit on the one that worked!! We have such utterly pleasant walks now, it is like night and day. We are still working on recall (Lacie is 9 months now), and making great progress after a couple of frustrating weeks. Again, Daniel was very patient and made several practical suggestions which have really helped us get over the hump. I cannot recommend Daniel enough to assist in strengthening the relationship and bond between you and your pup.read more
Brittany S. Papaleo
Brittany S. Papaleo
2020-03-25T20:26:09+0000
We won a 30 minute virtual session and Daniel was super insightful. A family member’s dog went through the full training with him and we look forward to implementing the tips he gave us today!read more
Jessy Brenneman
Jessy Brenneman
2019-12-08T13:47:38+0000
5 stars!My husband and I contacted Daniel over the summer with concerns about our 3 year old Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Macy, who had recently turned on our other dog over food and was frequently showing aggression (barking, growling, snapping) towards other dogs and humans on random occasions—especially when around my husband, who she is protective of. After our introductory consultation with Daniel, we opted to participate in “In Home Training,” because we needed to be trained on how to support and re-train Macy, as much as she needed training herself. We highly recommend this training option for anyone who is serious about supporting and learning with and about their dog. We followed Daniel’s directions, we consistently implemented the strategies he taught us, we sent him videos/pictures/questions in between sessions when we needed support or wanted to check in, and because of all that, we have seen results. Not only did Daniel help my husband and I to feel more confident around Macy by providing us with the tools and strategies we needed, the difference we have seen in Macy’s demeanor since beginning training is almost a complete 180. It is evident that Macy was responsive to the engaged walks and e-Collar Daniel has trained us on. She is reacting to much fewer stimuli in a negative manner—and on fewer occasions; she obeys commands much quicker; she is looking to us for guidance more; and because Daniel has helped us to be calmer, Macy overall seems calmer in the contexts/situations we were once concerned about putting her in. Thank you Daniel, for all your help! We are forever grateful!- The Brennemansread more
Grace Yaeko
Grace Yaeko
2019-05-24T01:40:08+0000
Our dog, Waldo, was our first baby and he knew it. We definitely let him get away with more than we should have and even though he was still young (almost 2), he seemed set in his ways. He pulled on the leash, would bark like crazy when excited, and getting “off limits” things away from him was a tug of war, sometimes with biting.When we had an actual baby, our attention shifted and we needed a dog that would listen, be calm, and be tolerant of a little moving human. We contacted Loudoun K9 for help and after our initial meeting with Daniel; Waldo seemed motivated and excited to learn. We opted for the in home training sessions as we needed guidance as owners with loose leash walking, calming Waldo down, and helping him adjust to grabby little baby hands. We worked with Waldo alongside Daniel with constant repetitions and positive reinforcements along with the use of an e-collar. The more we worked with Waldo, the more consistent he became. After completing our program, Waldo is like a different dog! He comes when called, walks nicely on the leash, drops items on command, and enjoys taking breaks from baby in his crate- something he never would have done before training.We are so pleased that with the help of Loudoun K9 we were able to create a safe and happy home for both our fur and human baby.read more
Karen Baker O'Connor
Karen Baker O’Connor
2019-05-15T21:11:23+0000
Within a few weeks of getting our golden retriever puppy, Willow, we knew we needed help. She is a bit of a “spit-fire” and didn’t know how to relax, walk on leash, and not bite. We just didn’t know how to train her. Daniel to the rescue! He not only taught Willow, but he has showed us how to teach her. His no non-sense approach and sense of humor made each session a fun, eye opening experience. We now understand so much more about what Willow needs from us in the form of boundaries and leadership. We are able to take things he has modeled and transfer them to other areas of her training with success. Now that we have completed the first phase of her in-home training, we are practicing every day-and having fun with it! While we still have progress to make, she is well on her way to being a great dog! We can’t thank Daniel enough for guiding us on this journey!read more
Erin Lewis Roberts
Erin Lewis Roberts
2019-05-11T12:10:17+0000
Been meaning to write this for a few weeks. I have struggled with my shepherd/pit mix, Gus, for most of his life. He is the sweetest, most loving dog in the world — unless you are a dog he doesn’t know. Then he turns into Cujo. He snarles and lunges and snaps and generally turns into a lunatic. Well, he USED TO. Mind you, I have spent THOUSANDS of dollars on trainers over his 4 1/2 years on this earth. I was reticent to do it again because we have had no success in the past. He is a perfect angel in training and then comes back and goes right back to his old ways. Long story short — I am the problem. He is insecure and protective. So I sent him to board and train with Loudoun K9. Again, he had near perfect behavior. He came back somewhat subdued and with better obedience but on our first walk, he again reacted. Daniel McLaughlin immediately saw my post on FB and arranged to come show me how to correct him and how to “share consequences”. Light bulb moment. I have been the one suffering for his behavior and I have been too reticent to control him properly. Anyhoo – I learned how to use the ecollar and how to pay attention to his reactions and enforce a true heel on our walks and “leave it” when he sees a dog and wants to react. It has now been several weeks and he has only had one moment where he reacted and that was mostly my fault and the fault of the other dog owner who let his own dog lunge and snap at us. He now rarely even needs a correction. A simple “eh!” And he falls back in line. I am amazed and grateful to Daniel for taking so much time to understand me and him and to show me why this was kinder than letting him get away with bad behavior. He’s not perfect and it’s gonna be a journey, but it is SO much better that I got a compliment from a guy on our walk this morning for having such well-behaved dogs. HA! That’s never happened before 🙂. Thank you, Loudoun K9!!!!read more
Michele DeGarmo
Michele DeGarmo
2018-11-17T14:11:18+0000
Buckley was a fun dog to begin with, but a few bad habits took some of that joy away! Daniel and Christina have renewed that joy in and with my dog! His obedience is trustworthy now, and I’ve learned skills to carry through with him to keep our life together calm, joyful, and FUN!! The trust that’s built through obedience is unmatched. Daniel has been fantastic with communication and answering all of my questions through this process. (There have been many!!) Thanks, Loudoun K9! Your TRAINING AND SUPPORT is exactly what Buckley and I needed!!!read more
Patty Boswell
Patty Boswell
2018-11-01T17:20:26+0000
I love the philosophy of Loudoun K9 – it is initially what I was drawn to when I was selecting a trainer for my new puppy. When I began to work with Daniel I had a Tasmanian Devil on my hands and I wasn’t quite sure what to do with her. Daniel has been patient with me as well as Willow and we are both learning quickly! We have completed the initial basic puppy training and I now have a different dog and I can only attribute that to his work with us. I am looking forward to beginning the next phase of her training with him and I intend to take her as far as possible with his help. I think he is a miracle worker but he tells me is not – I disagree with him! He is a gifted dog trainer and I am so happy that I have the opportunity to work with him.read more
Maura Florimonte
Maura Florimonte
2018-09-16T11:51:06+0000
I can’t say enough on how impressed I am with Loudoun K9. I booked three sessions with Daniel for training with my Golden-doodle. Not only did he train my puppy, he helped me understand how to communicate with my dog. There were definitely times that I struggled with the mechanics of dog training but he worked us through them. Today I have a 13 month old dog that is pleasant to be around and listens to me. It’s a great investment and sure to pay for itself over the next 10-15 years with my pup. So glad we found Loudoun K9 through several different Facebook pages.read more
Leigh Hurd
Leigh Hurd
2018-08-31T13:30:36+0000
We had both our dogs (High Energy Springer Spaniels) learn the E-collar with Daniel. Incredible results, done with great care, knowledge, and respect for animals. They have learned how to control themselves on our command, feel secure in the open, and it has really helped the owner animal relationship. We highly recommend Loudoun K9 for training, you will be glad you did! Listen to Daniel he won’t lead you wrong.read more
Jamie Rawson
Jamie Rawson
2018-07-24T01:51:48+0000
Daniel is AWESOME!!! Molly was a very over protective dog and thought she ran the house. She wouldn’t let anyone in the house and barked at everyone and everything. We couldn’t enjoy walks with the leash because she would go after everything and when it was time to eat she had to go in her cage because she was food obsessed.Molly went through the three week board and train at Loudoun K9. Daniel was awesome at sending pictures, videos and updates about her time with them.When she got home from the board and train she was a completely different dog. Now we can walk multiple times a day with the leash and she listens to our commands. Not only did Molly learn so did we. Daniel is always available for advise and questions when I have them. The in-home training sessions are great with going over the simple commands but also as a check-in to make sure everything is going as it should be.I would recommend Loudoun K9 to everyone! Daniel helped Molly become the dog I knew should could be.read more
Robin Kydd
Robin Kydd
2018-03-08T17:06:22+0000
We met Daniel McLaughlin a little over 6 years ago when we needed a trainer for our young rescue dog Avery. He was phenomenal in teaching her basic and advanced doggie manners, so it was only fitting that we employ him again with our most recent rescue. He is truly the “dog whisperer” and continues to be one of their favorite people 🐶 💕read more
Eric Sauer
Eric Sauer
2018-02-19T14:31:10+0000
My wife and I adopted a puppy of only 8 weeks old and immediately I could tell this was a smart dog but if I let him be and didn’t start some training eventually I would be getting trained by the dog instead of the other way around. I inquired about Daniel and Loudoun K9 and could immediately tell this is the guy I want to go with. We did only 6 sessions with Mattis our pup and what a difference we now have a very obedient puppy. I will admit I looked into other training places and had a bad experience right from the get go. But Daniel was amazing from start to finish Mattis is now very well leash trained and working on off leash he can sit, stay , lay down all the basics to get him on the right tract. Thank you very much Daniel and everyone at Loudoun K9.read more
Cindy Szayer
Cindy Szayer
2018-02-13T16:14:41+0000
Daniel taught me on how to interact with and train my first pup which translates to many different situations. My pup and I enjoy a great relationship built on trust because of Daniel’s help.read more
Carmela Hastings
Carmela Hastings
2018-01-12T20:26:46+0000
While our puppy was pretty well trained, Daniel was instrumental in helping us fine-tune her behavior. She instantly obeys my commands, as well as my husbands and knows we are both alpha in the house; thanks to Daniel and Loudoun K9 for helping us!read more
Kristen Blaylock Reed
Kristen Blaylock Reed
2017-12-31T22:40:41+0000
Loudoun K9 is wonderful. We have used both the training and boarding services for our beloved Saint Bernard. The staff is amazing and works with not only the dog but the family on training needs. They are always available for advice. Our Bailey loves being there when we are on vacation.read more
Bryan Jewett
Bryan Jewett
2017-12-13T22:40:29+0000
Daniel is awesome. He is working with us on our year old lab mix Rudy. From the very start we can see Rudy behaving differently but more importantly we are learning how to be good dog owners! Thanks Dan!!read more
Julie Gooch
Julie Gooch
2017-10-06T20:23:48+0000
Owners of two high-energy Boxers, we needed help with a general manners refresher and specialized help for a pup struggling with fear and anxiety-driven reactions. In-home training for both and board & train with e-collar for our nervous guy helped to get the whole family on track. Real results, responsive dogs, and a much calmer household since working with Daniel and his team. Thanks so much for giving us the tools and guidance to make it happen!read more
Rhonda McElroy
Rhonda McElroy
2017-08-31T19:09:39+0000
Love Loudoun K9 !! Daniel has always been prompt and is a wonderful trainer. We chose in home private sessions. I have 2 large dogs (American Bull Dog and Choc Lab) that are very sweet ladies. We needed help with walking them (they would pull me around and I could only walk one at a time) and with them rushing visitors at the door. My choc lab is very ADD and needed help with being obedient amidst much distraction. My ladies are much easier to walk as we use the “working walk” method Daniel taught us. They know we are the boss thanks to Daniel’s training method, time and patience.read more
Christine Steigerwald
Christine Steigerwald
2017-07-31T13:32:57+0000
Daniel is terrific. He helped us correct some food guarding and over-protective behaviors in our four year old German Shepherd. His canine insight, behavior modification approach, and overall skill with dogs is amazing. On top of that he is just a great guy to work with – honest, reliable, flexible and fun. We used his in home services and he has been completely available for questions that arose after our training ended. I recommend him for anyone in need of assistance with their dog from puppy training to problem behaviors. You will not be disappointed.read more
Jeananne Shultz
Jeananne Shultz
2017-07-19T11:16:29+0000
I recommend without reservation the services of Daniel and Loudoun K9. He made it possible for me to continue to live with my best friend. My 2 year old german shepherd mix was very impulsive and lacked self control. He was dog reactive as well. This was in spite of many standard obedience and training classes that I had been in with him since he was a puppy. I called Daniel in desperation at the recommendation of a friend as his dog reactivity was creating an impossible dilemma for me. My goal in training was/is to be able to take my dog anywhere and be able to enjoy him fully as a companion. I decided that the board and train option would be the one that my dog would benefit from the most. Throughout this lengthy process Daniel was always caring, honest, reliable, patient and steadfast. He was truly a partner with me through this process. Through the individual lessons and the homework assignments after the board and train, he taught me the skills I needed to be a confident leader which in turn is helping my dog to feel safe. I know that he will continue to support me if/when I have any future concerns/questions about how to help my dog. I would not be able to live with my dog now without the gift that Daniel and Loudoun K9 provided. I am so grateful.read more
Tracy Beth
Tracy Beth
2017-06-26T19:07:22+0000
Thank you Loudoun K9 for the great stay for Baloo! Loved the photo updates. Thanks for taking great care of him!
Sam Anthony Lucania
Sam Anthony Lucania
2017-04-05T15:44:40+0000
Loudoun K9 is amazing Daniel helped both my girls with basic obedience, place command, leash behavior and dog interaction. My wife who’s 8 months pregnant was able to take both girls 60lbs + on a long walk through our town center with great behavior. Love Loudoun K9!!read more
Jill Cooke - Jay
Jill Cooke – Jay
2017-02-04T16:50:38+0000
Michael Gordon
Michael Gordon
2017-01-27T20:13:56+0000
Dayna Stone
Dayna Stone
2016-05-07T17:48:33+0000
Loudoun K9 is a great resource for anyone seeking an excellent dog trainer. Daniel and his team are professional, honest and extremely knowledgeable about pet care and provide excellent advice to help you and your family in creating a loving and healthy bond. I highly recommend them!read more
Kama Pollick
Kama Pollick
2015-10-25T15:01:08+0000
I would highly recommend Daniel McLaughlin and his company Loudoun K9 Dog Training. We adopted a Plott Hound puppy from a local animal shelter and knew little of this breed. It turns out they are very smart but very stubborn active high energy dogs and I had never owned that kind of breed in the past. Behavior that was cute in a 10 lb puppy quickly became obnoxious in a 45 lb teenage dog and walking him became a real chore once he got bigger. I knew Bentley needed more training than I had the time or inclination to do myself. Daniel came recommended from a friend in my community. I checked out pricing from other board and train programs in the area and he is fair and competitive with his program choices. We did the 2 week board and train followed by in home sessions. As hard as it was to let him go for 2 weeks, it was for his own good and Daniel was great about providing daily updates/pictures and even videos. There is a lot of work involved once he came home but the result is that I have a very well mannered well behaved dog. He still loves to play but will quickly settle down when given a command. Walking him is now very enjoyable as he walks right beside me and even stops and sits when another dog is approaching and waits for that dog to pass. I get a lot of compliments on his behavior while we are on our walks and routinely recommend Loudoun K9 Training when people compliment Bentley’s behavior.read more
Lisa Valentini
Lisa Valentini
2015-10-25T14:29:21+0000
We went to Daniel with a highly energetic, reactive, stubborn and destructive 1 and 1/2 year old American Staffordshire Terrier mix. We sought the services of 3 other trainers before Daniel and saw minimal results. One of our previous trainers even told us that we might never break our dog of her reactivity and negative behaviors. We were frustrated and felt that Daniel was our last hope. We enrolled our dog in Daniel’s two week board and train program and saw tremendous results in our dog’s behavior. During the six in home sessions included in the program, Daniel taught us how to effectively lead our challenging dog. His strong connection to our canine, his availability to answer questions and offer support in between visits and his dedication to helping integrate our dog into our family set him apart from trainers we had worked with in the past. Our hyper “bully” is now a happy, calm and well mannered member our family.read more
Rachel Lucania
Rachel Lucania
2015-10-22T00:22:06+0000
I can’t thank Daniel enough for all of the in- home training sessions with our pup Lucy. He is great at teaching everything from basic commands such as “sit”,”place”, “down”, and “leave it” to proper socialization skills with other dogs. Our family has really benefitted from proper loose leash walking and off leash training. Daniel’s use of positive reinforcement and his dedication to making the relationship between the owner and dog happy and healthy has made the dog training experience more than exceptional. We couldn’t be happier with the quick responses and professional feedback whenever we have questions.read more
Leslie Taplin
Leslie Taplin
2015-09-30T16:14:08+0000
Do NOT do business with Dan. He was so unprofessional and he is completely unfair to his clients. We drove two hours to meet him at a park near his home for the first session. DAN WAS LATE! The following sessions he cancelled one of which because of rain though the session was inside. We questioned this but Dan isn’t good about responding back so hours and often days would go by until we would get an explanation out of Dan. As new puppy owners, it was important for us to have consistent training which we expressed to Dan multiple times. Since we couldn’t get confident and reliable training, we requested a refund. Dan said he would give us a refund for the 5 unused sessions. As weeks went on, we heard nothing. We followed up with him and he had a different story. He said he would only refund us for 3 sessions. He gave no explanation. Dan was not only unfair, but he was rude and a coward because he would not take our calls. He would say he would call us back and never would. I wouldn’t recommend Dan to train my goldfish, much less my dog. Beware!read more
Justin Ulrich
Justin Ulrich
2015-08-20T15:45:56+0000
Daniel does great work with dogs and with their owners. His method is inspired by a genuine love and appreciation for all things K9. If your pup needs professional help or even just a bit more polish, call Loudoun K9.read more
Amy Bradley
Amy Bradley
2015-07-04T14:25:08+0000
Whether you are looking for in home training or board and train, I highly recommend Daniel and Loudoun K9. He is very professional and knowledgeable of a large variety of dog breeds. Additionally, once the training is over, Daniel is still available to you to answer questions and provide advice because his goal is to see success between you and your dog. You won’t be disappointed!read more
Mark Davis Jr
Mark Davis Jr
2015-06-26T12:33:00+0000
Next Reviews